R3. Commercial phase-change (eutectic) cold-storage products as a substitute for the NH4Cl goop
Date of survey: 2026-08-30. All prices are listing prices seen on that date at the URL given. Where a page blocked automated access, or showed no price, the entry says so. Nothing below is a guess dressed up as an observation.
Context: Tech Ingredients video 2 (2026-08-29, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IGlZ61oCcEY) fills PET sports-drink bottles with a 705 g water / 295 g NH4Cl eutectic (29.5 wt% NH4Cl, claimed melting point -15.4 C), plus 4 g bentonite, 20-25 g chopped carbon fibre and 12 g xanthan. The point of the goop is to be a rechargeable cold battery inside the freezer so the fan (video 1) has somewhere to dump heat other than the stored food. This document asks: what can you buy instead, what does it cost per kJ of latent heat, and what happens if it leaks onto food.
Two numbers to keep in mind while reading.
- Ice: 334 kJ/kg at 0 C. Every "gel pack" that is water plus a gelling agent has exactly this behaviour. The video measured it: gel pack and plain water plateaued at 0 C together.
- Cooling 10 kg of stock from 60 C to 3 C removes about 10 kg x 4.18 kJ/kg.K x 57 K = 2,400 kJ. So 20 kg of a 300 kJ/kg PCM (6,000 kJ) buys roughly 25 kg of hot liquid per full recharge, before counting the compressor's own contribution (about 45 W net in the video's household freezer, more in a commercial box).
Recharge rule that matters more than any brand: the freezer air has to sit several degrees below the PCM melting point for many hours to refreeze it. Arctic Ice says freeze Tundra (-15 C) at "below -5 F" (-20.5 C) for 24-36 h (https://arctic-ice.com/products/tundra-series). Frigolab says 6 C below the plate temperature for 24 h (https://www.frigolab.eu/gb/option-and-accessories/842-eutectic-plate-cold-gn-11-18c.html). A commercial reach-in that holds -18 to -23 C can recharge a -15 C PCM overnight. It cannot reliably recharge a -21 C PCM. That single fact rules out most of the "-21 C" pharma products for this job unless the freezer runs at -26 C or colder.
1. Consumer and outdoor cooler packs
| Product | Phase change temp | Fill | Container | Mass per unit | Price seen 2026-08-30 | Sub-zero eutectic? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arctic Ice Tundra Series | 5 F / -15 C (https://arctic-ice.com/pages/arctic-ice-selector) | "high-performance phase change material"; press coverage names it PureTemp, plant-oil derived, "no caustic salts or petroleum" (https://midcurrent.com/2013/06/27/three-new-products-from-arctic-ice/) | rigid UV-stabilised HDPE, ultrasonic spin-welded cap | S 0.75 lb, M 1.5 lb, L 2.5 lb, XL 5 lb | Brand site 2-packs: Large $42.99, X-Large $64.99, XX-Large $85.99, all "sold out" (https://arctic-ice.com/products/tundra-series). Amazon Large 2.5 lb single $22.99, item weight 2.4 lb (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DZK515BK). Scheels from $19.99 (https://www.scheels.com/p/arctic-ice-tundra-series-ice-pack/16760-1203). Home Depot, Lowe's, Walmart pages blocked automated access. | Yes. This is the one consumer product at the target temperature. |
| Arctic Ice Alaskan Series | 32 F / 0 C (selector page above) | not disclosed | same rigid shell | S to XX-L | 2-packs $27.99 (S) to $85.99 (XX-L), in stock (https://arctic-ice.com/products/alaskan-series.js) | No. Water-temperature pack in a nice shell. |
| Arctic Ice Chillin' Brew | 28.4 F / -2 C (selector page) | not disclosed | rigid shell | not priced | Barely. -2 C is a beverage-chilling point, useless here. | |
| Engel 5 F / -15 C Freezer Packs | 5 F / -15 C | "active ingredients are non-toxic", not named. Shell wording ("rugged UV stabilized color container", "leak-proof ultra sonic spin welded cap", made in USA, limited lifetime warranty) is identical to Arctic Ice Tundra, so it is very likely the same OEM and the same PureTemp-class fill. Unconfirmed. | rigid HDPE | Large 2.5 lb (9.5 x 7.5 x 1.25 in), XL 5 lb (11 x 8.75 x 2 in) | Large $24.99, XL $29.99, both in stock (https://engelcoolers.com/products/engel-5-f-15-c-freezer-packs, variant JSON at .js) | Yes. Cheapest in-stock -15 C pack found. |
| Engel 20 F Hard Shell Freezer Pack | 20 F / -6.7 C; "charged by freezing at 10 F" | "non-toxic" | rigid | 2 lb and 5 lb listings; Amazon item weight 5 lb | Amazon variants showed $19.99, $22.95, $22.99, $26.99 (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07Z75D35N) | Sub-zero but too warm for this job. |
| Cooler Shock | 18 F / -7.8 C, "24-48 h" | SDS for the dry pack: poly(acrylamide-co-acrylic acid) potassium salt 40-60%, sodium chloride 25-50%; after adding water 84% water, 7% solids, density 1.04 (https://images.thdstatic.com/catalog/pdfImages/88/88821c86-7c8d-4829-b80a-c65dfcf63876.pdf). So it is a dilute NaCl brine (about 10 wt%, non-eutectic) held in a polyacrylamide gel. Marketing says "food safe"; the SDS says H335 dust irritant. Not a food ingredient. | nylon-reinforced flexible pouch or hard shell | 5 lb (2.3 kg) per large pack | Amazon: 4-pack 10x10x1 in $29.99 (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0773FVRZY); 3-pack 13x10 in 5 lb each $34.99 (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B086ZY99JC); 3-pack 14x10x1.5 in $31.99 (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XH9GB75) | Sub-zero, but -7.8 C and a non-eutectic brine, so it freezes over a range and the freezer must be well below -8 C to charge it. Not what you want. |
| Techni Ice HDR sheets | none below 0 C. Fill is a cross-linked polyacrylate polyalcohol co-polymer holding water. Claims of "-25 C" and "-190 C" are sensible cold in the frozen block, not a phase change point (https://techniiceusa.com/pages/dry-ice-packs-features) | FDA food-contact claim | PET/LDPE laminate over non-woven fabric, 24 cells per sheet | 0.8-0.9 kg per hydrated sheet, 34.5 x 25 x 2.8 cm (https://techniice.com/products/12-sheets-of-techniice-hdr) | 12 sheets $39.57 USD sale, $65.95 regular (https://techniiceusa.com/products/12-sheets-of-techniice-hdr) | No. It is ice in a quilt. Cheap ice, though: about $0.0012 per kJ at 0 C. |
| YETI Ice | 28.4 F / -2 C (https://huntingwaterfalls.com/yeti-ice-brick-review/) | "food-grade phase-change liquid" in HDPE | rigid | 1, 2, 4 lb | 1 lb $15, 2 lb $15, 4 lb $30 (https://www.tylerstx.com/yeti-ice/); Amazon 1 lb $15.00 (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CG79827G) | No, for practical purposes. |
| Pelican Ice | 28.4 F / -2 C | "BPA-free, FDA compliant", blow-moulded | rigid | 1, 2, 5 lb | 2 lb $22.15 (https://www.foamerica.com/products/pelican-2lb-icepack) | No. |
| Lifoam Freez Pak | not stated; "non-toxic gel", "colder than ice" | gel in polypropylene | pouch | 16 oz | $4.99 (https://kelloggsupplyco.com/shop/outdoor-living/coolers-and-water-jugs/cooler-accessories/cooler-ice-pack/lifoam-freez-pak-16-oz-blue-cooler-ice-pack?SKU=802093) | No evidence of sub-zero phase change. Treat as water gel. |
| Fit & Fresh Cool Coolers XL | not stated; "non-toxic, safe to pack with unpackaged food" | gel in BPA-free plastic | rigid | 5 x 2.5 x 7 in | $12.99 (https://fit-fresh.com/products/cool-coolers-xl-ice-multicolor) | No. Water gel. |
| Igloo Maxcold Large Freeze Block | not stated; "non-toxic Ultratherm gel" | gel in rigid shell | rigid | 2.05 lb (0.93 kg), 5.67 x 1.38 x 8.75 in | $7.99 (https://www.igloocoolers.com/products/25201-maxcold-ice-large-freeze-block-blue) | No. Water gel. |
| Nordic Ice gel packs (shipping) | not stated; Nordic's own page says "dry ice remains the choice for deep-frozen shipments below -20 C" (https://www.nordiccoldchain.com/refrigerants/gel-packs/) | food-grade water gel | pouch | 8 to 64 oz | WebstaurantStore: 48 oz $1.54 each (case of 12, $18.49); 64 oz $2.75 each (https://www.webstaurantstore.com/49203/hot-cold-packs.html?vendor=Nordic-Ice) | No. Water gel, but the cheapest ice-in-a-bag you can buy. |
| Polar Tech Ice Brix "Low Temperature" | not stated. Page says "eutectic gel", "non-toxic", and that "your freezer must be at -20 F" (-29 C) to freeze it, which implies a fill well below -18 C | gel in pouch | pouch | 48 oz (1.36 kg), 10.25 x 8 x 1.5 in | $2.25 each, $26.99 per case of 12, minimum 7 cases (84 packs, about 114 kg), 10 business day lead (https://www.webstaurantstore.com/polar-tech-48-oz-ice-brix-low-temperature-cold-pack-case/620XB48CS12.html) | Probably yes, but the phase temperature is undisclosed and the -29 C charging requirement means a normal freezer cannot recharge it. Skip. |
Summary for section 1: only Arctic Ice Tundra and Engel 5 F are genuine -15 C eutectics in consumer packaging. Everything else is either water (0 C), a -2 C beverage pack, or a -7 C brine gel.
2. Industrial and pharma cold-chain PCMs, -10 to -25 C
| Maker / product | Temp | Latent heat | Type and fill | Format | Buying route, price, minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PureTemp -15 (Entropy Solutions / Sonoco) | -15 C | 301 J/g. Density 1.03 liquid, 1.13 solid; k 0.55 W/m.K liquid, 2.34 solid (datasheet PDF at https://puretemp.com/puretemp-15technicaldatasheet/) | bio-based organic, composition trade secret. SDS: GHS Acute toxicity Category 4, H302 "Harmful if swallowed" (https://puretemp.com/puretemp-15-sds_2025/). Plant-derived is not the same as food-grade. | bulk liquid | Samples in 1 gal and 5 gal (4 to 35 lb) at "$12 or $24 per pound depending on quantity"; drums "$2 to $5 per pound" (https://puretemp.com/home/faqs/). The store URL store.puretemp.com did not resolve on 2026-08-30. So: $26-53/kg small, $4.4-11/kg bulk, price per kJ $0.09-0.18 small. |
| PureTemp -21 | -21 C | 239 J/g; density 1.06 / 1.17 (https://puretemp.com/puretemp-21technicaldatasheet/) | as above | bulk liquid | as above |
| PureTemp -23 | not on the current datasheet list (only -37, -21, -15, -2 shown at https://puretemp.com/home/data-sheets/). Treat as discontinued or custom. | ||||
| Sonoco ThermoSafe PureTemp bricks and panels (retail via Fisher Scientific) | -20 C foam brick; -21 C panel | PureTemp -21 grade, 239 J/g assumed | PureTemp in phenolic foam brick or HDPE bottle/panel | 24.1 oz (683 g) foam brick 10.75 x 9.25 x 0.5 in | $839.00 per pack of 24 = $34.96 each (https://www.fishersci.com/shop/products/sonoco-puretemp-phase-change-materials-foam-brick-phase-temp-20-deg-c-l-x-w-x-h-10-75-x-9-25-x-0-5-in/03600110). 163 kJ per brick, $0.21 per kJ. Also: 35.7 oz -20 C brick $1,737 per 16 (https://www.fishersci.com/shop/products/foam-brick-20c-gel-pack/03600192); -21 C 10 x 10 x 1 in panel 38 oz $1,079 per 12 = $89.92 each (https://www.fishersci.com/shop/products/pcm-panel-21c-purple-38-oz/03600181); 37 oz $1,117 per 16 (https://www.fishersci.com/shop/products/sonoco-puretemp-phase-change-materials-14/03600302). Fisher sells to businesses with an account; no stated minimum beyond the pack. |
| Rubitherm SP-11 / SP-17 / SP-21 / SP-24 / SP-30 (Germany) | SP-11: -11 C; SP-17: melt -18 to -17 C, congeal -17 to -22 C; SP-21: melt -21 to -19, congeal -21 to -24; SP-24: melt -23 to -22 (there is no SP-15 in the current range) | SP-11 290, SP-17 300, SP-21 285, SP-24 250, SP-30 250 kJ/kg (+/-7.5%), density about 1.1-1.3 kg/L, k 0.6 W/m.K, volume expansion about 8% (datasheets: https://www.rubitherm.eu/media/products/datasheets/Techdata_-SP-21_EN_25062026.PDF, Techdata_-SP-17_EN_21012026.PDF, Techdata_-SP-24_EN_21012026.PDF) | inorganic salt-water mixture with additives; datasheet: "corrosive effect on metals" | bulk, or in their CSM panels | "B2B only, sale to consumers excluded" (https://www.rubitherm.eu/en/productcategory/anorganische-pcm-sp). No price published. Quote only, EU shipping. |
| Climator ClimSel C-21 (Sweden) | "Frozen: below -20 C" system, product ClimSel C-21 (catalogue https://easyfairsassets.com/sites/134/2023/08/Katalog-ENBART-ClimSel-System.pdf) | not published for C-21; positive-temperature ClimSel grades run 108-259 kJ/kg (IEA SHC Task 32 inventory, https://task32.iea-shc.org/Data/Sites/1/publications/task32-Inventory_of_PCM.pdf). No C-18 grade found. | salt hydrate, "non-hazardous ingredients, free from paraffins" (https://climator.com/pcm-solutions/) | pouches inside shipper systems | Sold as shipper systems, quote only. No price. |
| va-Q-tec va-Q-accu -21G (Germany) | melting range -21 to -19 C | >= 220 kJ/kg, density 1.18 (datasheet https://www.va-q-tec.com/wp-content/uploads/pimcore-2/Technical%20Product%20Data%20Sheet_va-Q-accu%20-21G.pdf) | "special paraffins and salts", fill not specified | HDPE bricks, sizes on request | Login-gated, quote only. |
| Cryopak (Sub Zero, 20 Below, Phase series) | product family names indicate -18 to -21 C grades | not obtained (site returned 403 to automated fetch: https://www.cryopak.com/solutions/refrigerants/) | bricks and pouches | Quote only. Cryopak "Phase 22" is +22 C, not a freezer product. | |
| Pelican (Peli) BioThermal | "Series 20M, freeze point -20 C"; PCM BRICs are "non-toxic organic PCM within phenolic foam and plastic film" (https://www.pelibiothermal.com/frequently-asked-questions/) | not published | organic (PureTemp-class) | bricks inside Credo shippers | Sold as shipper systems, quote only. |
| Cold Chain Technologies | 500-ST KOOLIT saddlebag, "salt/water solution PCM, -23 C" (patent literature); site lists "non-water-based PCMs" in saddlebags and hard bottles (https://www.coldchaintech.com/refrigerant-phase-change-materials) | not published | mixed | saddlebags, bottles | Quote, "not always available in every region". |
| Temprecision ThermaBrick PCM-21 | -21 C (https://www.temprecision.com/phase-change-materials/frozen-temperature-pcms-life-sciences/) | on TDS PDF, not extracted | "non-toxic" | bricks | Quote only. |
| Nordic Ice | water gel only, no PCM below 0 C on their refrigerants page | 334 kJ/kg at 0 C | see section 1 | ||
| TCP Reliable / Thermal Custom Packaging | "-21 C (-5.8 F) ultra-cold" hard-shell PCM, "non-toxic, non-hazardous, made in USA" (https://www.thermalcustompackaging.com/pcm/, via search snippet; the host did not resolve on 2026-08-30) | not published | hard shell | Quote only. | |
| Insulated Products Corp -20 C PCM packs | -20 C, "gel PCM in puncture-resistant polyethylene" (https://ipcpack.com/products/gel-packs/20c-pcm-packs/) | not published | pouch | "Request a quote", tel 310-638-0900. | |
| Polar Tech Ice Brix low temperature | see section 1 | $2.25 per 48 oz, 7-case minimum | |||
| Phase Change Solutions BioPCM | tunable -75 to 175 C, "non-toxic, non-corrosive" (https://phasechange.com/biopcm/) | not published per grade | bio-based | custom mats and pouches | Project sales, quote only. |
| Microtek Laboratories | microencapsulated paraffin powders (MPCM 18D, 24D, 28D etc, positive temperatures). No sub-zero macro product confirmed. | powder | Not applicable. | ||
| Croda CrodaTherm | lowest grade is CrodaTherm 5 (5 C, 217 J/g). No grade below 0 C (https://www.crodaindustrialspecialties.com/en-gb/functions/phase-change-materials) | bio-based wax | Not applicable. | ||
| Axiotherm ATS series (Germany) | ATS -12: 360 kJ/kg; ATS -21: 320 kJ/kg; ATS -24: 340 kJ/kg; also -10, -6, -3, -34, -40, -50, -63 (https://www.axiotherm.de/en/produkte/axiotherm-pcm/) | as listed | inorganic | HeatSel capsules, bulk | Quote only, EU. |
| PLUSS Advanced savE (India, US office) | HS10N -10 C 333; HS15N -15 C 341; HS18N -18 C 290; HS21N -21 C 253; HS23N -23 C 261; HS26N -26 C 264; HS30N -30 C 264 kJ/kg (https://pluss.us.com/save-pcm-product-range/) | as listed | hydrated salts | bulk, pouches | "Contact info@pluss.us.com". No price or minimum published. HS15N is on paper the best -15 C material found (341 kJ/kg). |
What this table says for a commissary: the materials with the highest latent heat at -15 C (PLUSS HS15N 341, PureTemp -15 301, Rubitherm SP-17 300 kJ/kg) are all quote-only or sold by the gallon into your own containers. The only shelf-priced industrial format is the Sonoco/Fisher PureTemp brick, and at $0.21 per kJ it is five times the consumer-pack price.
3. Eutectic cold plates for vehicles and mobile freezers
These are welded steel or rotomoulded PE plates with internal refrigerant coils (vehicle type) or plain sealed plates (foodservice type), filled with a salt-water eutectic. Vehicle plates are recharged by the truck's own condensing unit, not by a freezer, and are sized by BTU holdover, not sold by the kilogram.
- Dole Refrigerating (Lewisburg TN): Cold-Cel holdover truck plates, Econo-Cel blower plates, plate freezers. "We don't have standard sizes", custom, contact for quote (https://www.doleref.com/eutectics). The CE catalogue PDF at doleref.com returned an HTML placeholder on 2026-08-30, so eutectic temperature options and BTU tables could not be read. No price.
- C Nelson Manufacturing (Oak Harbor OH): cold-plate carts and truck freezers with steel eutectic plates in three temperatures, -12 F (-24 C) novelties, 0 F (-18 C) ice cream, +26 F (-3 C) refrigeration; hold 8-10 h (https://cnelson.com/collections/refrigerated-eutectic-cold-plates). Web prices show $0.00, call 419-898-3305. Models VBD4SE (30 in) to VBD14SE (88 in).
- FIC S.p.A. (Italy): eutectic plates at -4, -11, -23, -26 and -33 C for last-mile transport (https://www.fic.com/en/tipologie-prodotto/eutectic-plates, via search snippet; the page returned 404 on direct fetch). Quote only.
- Frostcar (Turkey): models FP077 to FP177, no specs on page (https://www.frostcar.com/eutectic-plates/).
- Thermal Custom Packaging (TCP): -21 C hard-shell PCM, see section 2. Not vehicle plates.
- "Hercules" eutectic plates: no product page found before the search budget ran out. Unverified.
- Turnkey-parlor sites quote Chinese eutectic-plate ice cream truck bodies at about US$8,000-10,000 per set (https://turnkeyparlor.com/cold-plates-cool-packs-keep-ice-cream-cold/ and made-in-china listings).
Verdict: vehicle plates are the wrong tool. They are sized in tens of kg each, need a refrigerant connection to recharge, and are priced as capital equipment. Nothing here beats a stack of 5 lb consumer packs for a freezer-internal cold battery.
4. Foodservice eutectic plates, freezer cold accumulators, dry-ice alternatives
European foodservice catalogues sell GN-sized sealed PE plates with -21 C, -18 C, -12 C, -3 C, 0 C and +21 C fills. These are exactly the "buy" version of the video's bottles, but they are sold in Europe and shipping 5 kg plates across the Atlantic eats the price advantage.
- Frigolab (Italy): Eutectic plate COLD -18 C, GN 1/1 530 x 325 x 30 mm, 5.1 kg; GN 1/2 325 x 265 x 30 mm, 2.45 kg. EUR 89.00 ex VAT (EUR 108.58 inc), minimum 2 (https://www.frigolab.eu/gb/option-and-accessories/842-eutectic-plate-cold-gn-11-18c.html). Energy capacity not stated; at a typical 200-250 kJ/kg that is about 1,000-1,300 kJ per plate, EUR 0.07-0.09 per kJ before shipping.
- Kangabox UK: Premium cold plates in -12 C or -21 C, GN 1/4 GBP 37.40, GN 1/2 GBP 43.35, GN 1/1 GBP 65.45, Euronorm 60 x 40 GBP 79.00, all ex VAT (https://www.kangaboxuk.com/hot-and-cold-eutectic-plates-24-c.asp). Weights not listed.
- Reysan Atlantic UK: -21 C "saline" plate in HDPE, 48 x 28 cm, 4.5 kg, "latent heat 210 kcal" (879 kJ, so about 195 kJ/kg); -3 C version 4.1 kg, 230 kcal. Out of stock, "ask for price" (https://www.reysan.co.uk/cold-accumulator-eutectic-plate.aspx).
- Olivo (France): 13 plate models in rotomoulded PE, from 250 cc cartridges (0.3 kg) to GASTRO 1/1 (530 x 325 x 35 mm, 5.3 kg); seven fills at +21, 0, -3, -12, -17, -21, -26 C; "water, mineral salts, and refrigerants", non-toxic. No price (https://www.olivo-logistics.com/en/eutectic-plate/).
- Melform (Italy): 800 x 480 mm plates at +3 C, -21 C, and "extra frozen -21 C"; recyclable shell, "non-toxic internal liquid"; price shown as EUR 0.00, minimum 2 (https://www.melform.com/en/product%20category/foodservice-en/eutectic-plates/).
- Cold & Co (France): Rigid eutectic gel -20 C in HDPE with reinforced corners, "delivers cold between -30 C and -18 C", needs 48 h at -30 C or 24 h at -40 C to charge, sold in lots of 12, no price (https://www.coldandco.com/products/rigid-eutectic-gels-minus-20-degree/).
- Tempack (Spain): rigid frozen packs, phase change -21 C, HDPE over eutectic gel, no price (https://tempack.com/en/products/cold-packs/eutectic/eutectic-cold-pack-detail).
- Ice cream cold-plate dipping cabinets (C Nelson, Kelvinator, etc.): the plate is the cabinet's own eutectic and is not removable. KaTom's category page blocked automated access. Not relevant as a freezer insert.
- Dry-ice alternatives: every product above is marketed as one. The honest comparison is per kJ: dry ice gives about 571 kJ/kg of sublimation at -78.5 C and costs whatever your local supplier charges per delivery, but it is single-use and displaces oxygen in a walk-in. A -15 C eutectic pack is reusable thousands of times and its only running cost is the freezer's electricity to refreeze it.
5. Food-grade alternatives to NH4Cl for a home brew
Eutectic points below are the standard literature values. The latent heat figures for NaCl, NH4Cl and KCl are from the Zalba, Marin, Cabeza and Mehling 2003 review table (Applied Thermal Engineering 23, 251-283), quoted from memory and not re-fetched on 2026-08-30; corroboration from sources fetched today is noted per row. Salt prices are US retail listings seen 2026-08-30.
| Salt | Eutectic composition | Eutectic temp | Latent heat of eutectic | Food status if it leaks | Salt cost (retail, seen 2026-08-30) | Cost of salt per kg of mixture | Salt cost per kJ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NH4Cl (ammonium chloride, E510) | 19.5 wt% NH4Cl in water (video uses 29.5 wt%, see note) | -15.4 C (ScienceDirect topic summary via search: "80.5/19.5 wt% water/NH4Cl, -15.4 C") | about 289 kJ/kg (Zalba 2003). A glycerin/NH4Cl/water 10:20:70 mix measured 197.7 J/g at -18 C, and an NaCl/NH4Cl/water 18.4/8.0/73.6 ternary measured 230.7 J/g at -24.7 C, in papers surfaced by search. | GRAS, 21 CFR 184.1138, dough strengthener, flavour enhancer, leavening, processing aid (https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/21/184.1138). EU E510. Oral LD50 1,650 mg/kg rat (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ammonium_chloride). Ammonia smell if it gets warm or alkaline. A leak onto food is a nuisance, not a poisoning. | Amazon 1 kg food-additive grade $19.19-22.79 (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01EZ921NA). Wintersun 50 lb feed grade $250.00 = $11.02/kg (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N48Q7XY). Kalustyan's FCC food grade $4.99 (size not tied to price, all sizes sold out) (https://foodsofnations.com/products/ammonium-chloride-e-510). | 0.195 kg x $11-19 = $2.15-3.74 | $0.007-0.013 |
| NaCl (table salt, solar salt) | 23.3 wt% NaCl | -21.1 C (ice + hydrohalite NaCl.2H2O; measured melting -20.9 to -22.4 C at 23% and -19.7 to -22.1 C at 24% with only 0.2-0.3 K subcooling, Yilmaz et al. EuroSun 2010, https://proceedings.ises.org/conference/eurosun2010/papers/eurosun2010-0314-Medrano.pdf) | about 222 kJ/kg (Zalba 2003) | GRAS by 21 CFR 182.1 example listing (https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/21/182.1). It is salt. | Diamond Crystal solar salt 40 lb $34.99 at Walmart (search snippet, https://www.walmart.com/ip/Diamond-Crystal-40-lb-Solar-Naturals-Salt-Crystals-Water-Softener-Salt/18944968148) = $1.93/kg. Restaurant Depot and Costco do not publish prices online; expect similar or lower per kg for food-grade kosher salt in 25-50 lb bags. | 0.233 kg x $1.93 = $0.45 | $0.002 |
| KCl (potassium chloride, E508) | 19.5 wt% KCl | -10.7 C | 253 kJ/kg measured, 283-284 kJ/kg literature (KCl-for-fish-cold-storage paper surfaced by search, https://www.researchgate.net/publication/350336961). Yilmaz 2010 found KCl solutions subcool 5-7 K and phase-separate more than NaCl. | GRAS, 21 CFR 184.1622 (https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/21/184.1622). Salt substitute. | Morton 40 lb water-softener KCl: Amazon $39.99-66.95 across sellers (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008Z27QIY); Walmart $56.71 (search snippet). $2.2-3.7/kg. | 0.195 kg x $2.2-3.7 = $0.43-0.72 | $0.002-0.003 |
| MgCl2 (E511) | 21.6 wt% MgCl2 | -33.2 to -33.6 C (ice + MgCl2.12H2O; FHWA anti-icing manual and LPSC 2024 abstract via search) | not obtained | GRAS, 21 CFR 184.1426 (https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/21/184.1426). Bitter, hygroscopic, mild laxative in quantity. | Greenway Biotech 5 lb flakes $19.95-26.99 (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00I86NLYA) = $8.8-11.9/kg | not useful: -33 C is below any freezer here | n/a |
| CaCl2 (E509) | 29.8 wt% | about -51 to -55 C | 190.8 kJ/kg for the hexahydrate at +29 C (IEA Task 32 inventory); eutectic value not obtained | GRAS, 21 CFR 184.1193 (https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/21/184.1193). Heats strongly on dissolving; hygroscopic; corrosive to aluminium. | food-grade 50 lb bags listed at ChemCentral and Ingredi, prices not captured | too cold for a freezer to charge | n/a |
| Potassium acetate (E261) | about 50 wt% | about -60 C (deicer patent literature via search) | not obtained | Approved food additive in US, EU (E261), AU/NZ (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Potassium_acetate). | Duda Energy listing not found in search results; no price | too cold | n/a |
| Glycerol (glycerine, E422) / water | not a eutectic system in practice; freezing point falls with concentration to a minimum near 70 wt% at -37.8 C, 40 wt% freezes at -15.5 C, 50 wt% at -22.0 C (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glycerol_(data_page)) | Latent heat is the ice fraction only; the liquid slushes over a wide range instead of plateauing. Poor cold battery. | GRAS, food ingredient. Safest fill of all if it leaks. | not priced (Duda Energy page blocked) | |||
| Propylene glycol (E1520) / water | eutectic 60:40 PG:water at -60 C; commercial -45 C mixes are 40:60 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propylene_glycol) | Same problem as glycerol: broad slush, no plateau at a useful temperature. Use it as a heat-transfer fluid, not a PCM. | GRAS with per-food limits; E1520. | not priced |
Note on the video's ratio. 295 g NH4Cl in 705 g water is 29.5 wt%, well above the 19.5 wt% eutectic. At 29.5 wt% the mixture is on the salt-rich side of the eutectic: NH4Cl solubility is 29.4 g/100 mL at 0 C (Wikipedia data above), so roughly 60 g of the 295 g will simply not dissolve at freezer temperatures and sits as solid salt doing nothing. The mixture still freezes at the eutectic temperature, which is why the video's plateau came out near -15 C, but a 19.5-20 wt% mix (about 200 g NH4Cl per 800 g water) gives the same plateau with a third less salt and more latent heat per kilogram. Worth checking against the video's claim that "the exact recipe is in the description" before copying it. The bentonite, carbon fibre and xanthan are sensible; xanthan is a food gum, bentonite is a wine fining agent, chopped carbon fibre is inert but not something you want in a sauce.
Corrosion warning for any home brew: Yilmaz 2010 found galvanised steel corroded at 4-5.7 g/m2.day in 21% NaCl and copper at 3.2-3.3 g/m2.day in dilute KCl, while stainless 304 and aluminium showed no mass loss in a month (aluminium did bubble). Keep the brine in PET or HDPE, never in a metal hotel pan, and keep it off the freezer's aluminium evaporator fins. The video's warning about steel wool is right.
Which to pick for a home brew:
- NaCl eutectic at 23.3 wt%: -21 C, 222 kJ/kg, $0.45 of salt per kg, and it is the only one of these you could spill on a brisket and shrug. The catch is the recharge rule: a freezer at -18 to -20 C will not refreeze it. Only do this if the freezer verifiably holds -25 C or colder.
- NH4Cl at 19.5-20 wt%: -15.4 C, about 289 kJ/kg, $2-4 of salt per kg. Recharges in any -18 C freezer. Food additive, but smells of ammonia and you would not want it on food. This is the video's choice and for a -18 C box it is the right one on physics.
- KCl at 19.5 wt%: -10.7 C, 253-283 kJ/kg, salt-substitute safe. Too warm to be a good sink for a freezer, fine for a refrigerator-side cold battery.
6. Ranking: top 3 buy-not-build for 20-40 kg at -15 to -21 C
Price per kJ uses observed listing price divided by (pack mass x latent heat). Where the latent heat of a consumer pack is not published, 301 J/g (PureTemp -15) is used and marked "assumed". For a -18 C commercial freezer the usable candidates are -15 C products; -21 C products are listed for completeness with the caveat that a -18 C box cannot recharge them.
| Rank | Option | Temp | Unit | Price | kJ per unit | $ per kJ | Cost for 20 kg / 40 kg | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engel 5 F / -15 C Freezer Pack, XL 5 lb (2.27 kg) | -15 C | 11 x 8.75 x 2 in HDPE | $29.99 in stock (https://engelcoolers.com/products/engel-5-f-15-c-freezer-packs) | about 683 kJ (301 J/g assumed) | $0.044 | 9 packs $270 / 18 packs $540 | Cheapest in-stock -15 C pack. Rigid, dishwasher safe, recharges in a -18 C freezer overnight. Fill undisclosed but "non-toxic"; treat a leak like a PureTemp leak (H302, do not serve the food). 18 packs occupy about 57 L of freezer, roughly 10% of a 20 cu ft reach-in. |
| 2 | Arctic Ice Tundra Series, XL 5 lb or L 2.5 lb | -15 C | rigid HDPE, same form factor as Engel | XL 2-pack $64.99 (sold out at brand site); Amazon L 2.5 lb $22.99 in stock (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DZK515BK) | XL about 683 kJ, L about 341 kJ | $0.048 (XL 2-pack), $0.067 (Amazon L) | XL: $585 / $1,170 at 2-pack price if it comes back in stock; L: 18 packs $414 / 36 packs $828 | Same product class as Engel and the only one whose fill is publicly identified as PureTemp. Choose whichever of 1 and 2 is in stock; they are interchangeable. |
| 3 | Sonoco ThermoSafe PureTemp -20 C foam brick, 24.1 oz (683 g), via Fisher Scientific | -20 C | phenolic foam brick 10.75 x 9.25 x 0.5 in | $839.00 per 24 = $34.96 each (https://www.fishersci.com/shop/products/sonoco-puretemp-phase-change-materials-foam-brick-phase-temp-20-deg-c-l-x-w-x-h-10-75-x-9-25-x-0-5-in/03600110) | about 163 kJ (239 J/g) | $0.21 | 30 bricks (20 kg) about $1,050; 59 bricks (40 kg) about $2,060 | The only shelf-priced, documented -20 C product. Thin bricks give a lot of surface area for the fan to work on. But it costs 5x the consumer packs and a -18 C freezer will not fully recharge it; only pick this if the box runs -25 C or colder and you want -20 C air. |
| alt | PureTemp -15 liquid, 5 gal sample (about 35 lb, 15.9 kg) decanted into your own PET bottles | -15 C | your bottles | $12-24/lb per PureTemp FAQ, so $420-840 per 5 gal; store page unreachable on 2026-08-30 | 301 J/g, 4,780 kJ per 5 gal | $0.09-0.18 | $530-1,060 / $1,060-2,120 plus bottles | Semi-build. Better latent heat per kg than any consumer pack and you choose the container shape, but H302 and no cheaper than Engel. |
| alt | PLUSS savE HS15N (341 kJ/kg) or Rubitherm SP-17 (300 kJ/kg) | -15 C / -17 C | bulk | quote only | unknown | unknown | Best materials on paper, no US retail path found. Ask PLUSS's US office for a 25 kg quote if you want to try. |
Build option for comparison, same basis: NH4Cl at 19.5 wt% in free PET bottles, salt at $11-19/kg, about 289 kJ/kg, comes to $0.007-0.013 per kJ for the salt, or roughly $0.015-0.025 per kJ once you add carbon fibre, xanthan, bentonite and an hour of mixing per 10 bottles. That is 2-3x cheaper than Engel per kJ and 10x cheaper than the Fisher bricks. NaCl at 23.3 wt% is $0.002 per kJ but needs a -25 C freezer to recharge. The buy case rests on not wanting to handle 6-12 kg of ammonium chloride and 20-40 PET bottles in a food prep area, and on the packs being rigid, labelled and dishwasher safe. At $270-540 for 20-40 kg of Engel packs versus perhaps $100-150 of ingredients and an afternoon, buying is defensible; it is not the bargain the brands imply.
What could not be verified
- Latent heat of Engel 5 F, Arctic Ice Tundra, Cooler Shock, Polar Tech Ice Brix and all EU foodservice plates: none publish it. The 301 J/g assumption for the two -15 C consumer packs rests on Arctic Ice being PureTemp and Engel looking like the same OEM product.
- PureTemp sample store (store.puretemp.com) did not resolve, so the $12-24/lb figure is the FAQ statement, not a cart price.
- Rubitherm, PLUSS, Axiotherm, Climator, va-Q-tec, Cryopak, TCP, IPC, CCT, Pelican BioThermal, Dole, C Nelson, FIC, Olivo, Melform, Tempack, Cold & Co: quote only, no unit price observed.
- Zalba 2003 latent heats (NaCl 222, NH4Cl 289, KCl 283 kJ/kg) were not re-fetched; ScienceDirect and MDPI returned 403. The KCl figure is corroborated by a 2021 paper (253 measured, 284 literature) and the NaCl eutectic temperature by Yilmaz 2010.
- Home Depot, Lowe's, Walmart, eBay, REI, yeti.com, KaTom and engineeringtoolbox blocked automated fetches; prices from those retailers come from search snippets where cited and should be re-checked in a browser.
- "Hercules" eutectic plates: no product page found.
- Search budget for the session was exhausted at 200 queries; remaining lookups were direct fetches only.