R2. US market survey: commercial blast chillers and shock freezers
Written 2026-08-30. All prices and stock notes were observed on 2026-08-30 unless a different date is given. "Not confirmed" means I could not load a page that shows a number; I have not guessed any price.
Scope: what a small commissary in the New York area would actually buy, and what a commercial blast chiller does that a freezer with a fan bolted inside does not. The DIY tier (Tech Ingredients fan retrofit plus ammonium chloride eutectic bottles) is the baseline for the comparison in section 7.
Sourcing notes. WebstaurantStore, ckitchen, Amazon, and manufacturer sites loaded. KaTom, RestaurantSupply.com, Chef's Deal, Burkett, Machinio and most eBay search pages returned HTTP 403 to automated requests, so where I quote them it is from an eBay product page, a search-engine snippet, or a cached listing, and I say so. Lead times are the retailer's stated ship window, not a quote.
1. Models by tier
Capacity figures are the manufacturer's "lb per 90 min chill" and "lb per 240 min freeze" unless noted. Start temperatures differ by maker (Avantco and Beverage-Air rate from 194 F, Thermo-Kool and American Panel from 160 to 165 F, Traulsen CLBC from 135 F), so the numbers are not strictly comparable.
1a. Countertop and undercounter (3 to 5 pans)
| Model | Chill / freeze | Pans | Electrical | W x D x H (in) | Refrigerant | Probe / HACCP | Price seen | Lead time |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Avantco SF-3 | 15 lb / 9 lb | 3 half or 2/3 pans | 120 V, 5.5 to 8.5 A, 1 ph, NEMA 5-15P, 3/4 hp | 25 x 23 x 19 | R-290 | Heated core probe; no logging listed | $2,089.00 (Plus member $1,909.00), WebstaurantStore | Ships in 1 business day |
| Avantco SF-5 | 31 lb / 26 lb | 5 full-size food pans | 120 V, 6.4 to 9 A, NEMA 5-15P | 30 x 29 x 33 | R-290 | Heated core probe; no logging listed | $3,789.00 (Plus $3,539.00), WebstaurantStore | Ships in 1 business day |
| Atosa EBF-03 | 22 lb / 11 lb (200 F to 37 F, 200 F to 0 F) | 3 GN 1/1 | 115 V, 6.5 A, 623 W, cord and plug | 29.75 x 32.75 x 22.9 | not stated on page | Core probe; no logging listed | $4,576.00, Nishi Enterprise | "Ships direct from manufacturer" |
| Atosa EBF-05 | 55 lb / 33 lb | 5 GN 1/1 | 115 V, 12 A, 1,163 W | 29.5 x 32.1 x 34.25 | not stated on page | Core probe; no logging listed | $5,707.00 list, $5,187.60 sale, ckitchen | "Quick Ship" |
| KoolMore KM-CBLC-5 | 30 lb / 26.5 lb | 5 pans | 115 V | 30 in wide | not stated | Not stated | $3,465.00 on Amazon (page also showed "Currently unavailable" for at least one variant); $3,685.00 on koolmore.com | Amazon stock unclear |
| KoolMore KM-CBLC (3 pan) | 15 lb / 8.8 lb | 3 pans | 115 V | not pulled | not stated | Not stated | $2,088.09, Amazon, in stock | In stock |
| VEVOR 114 L 5-tray | not rated in lb | 5 trays | 110 V | not pulled | R-404A | Not stated | $3,049.90, Amazon, in stock | In stock |
| Beverage-Air CF031AG (discontinued) | 17.6 lb / 11 lb (194 F start) | 3 pans 13 x 21 | 115/120 V, 9.9 A, NEMA 5-15P, 1,571 BTU/h | 22 x 29.75 x 20.5 | R-404A | Core probe; manual defrost; no logging | $9,247.60 WebstaurantStore (out of stock). eBay: $1,899.00, $3,000.00, $3,099.00 listings on the eBay product page | Out of stock |
| Beverage-Air RBS-054-SA-HC | 45 lb / 30 lb | 5 full-size sheet pans | 208/240 V, 6.6 A, 1 ph, NEMA 6-15P, 1 hp | 33.5 x 34.7 x 35.4 | R-290 | Multi-sensor heated probe; USB data recorder; HACCP alarm; soft, hard, timed, probe modes; conservation mode; timed manual defrost | $17,809.96, WebstaurantStore | 4 to 5 weeks |
| Thermo-Kool TK3-1 | 29 lb / 18 lb (165 F start, 2 h and 4 h) | 3 full-size pans | 115 V, 1 ph, 15 A circuit, NEMA 5-15P, 4,000 BTU/h at 20 F evap / 105 F cond | 25.25 wide | R-404A | One food probe and one air probe; printer optional (RS-232) | Not confirmed. KaTom lists "contact factory for price"; WebstaurantStore TK5-1 page shows "no longer available" | Made to order |
| Thermo-Kool TK5-1 | 44 lb / 30 lb | 4 full-size pans | 115 V, 15 A circuit, NEMA 5-15P, 6,900 BTU/h | not pulled | R-404A | Food and air probe | Not confirmed (page removed from WebstaurantStore). The 208 V sibling TK5-2-C last showed $10,659.00 on WebstaurantStore before removal | Made to order |
| American Panel AP3BCF30-1 HurriChill | 30 lb / 18 lb (160 F start) | 3 pans 12 x 20 x 2.5 | 120 V, 10 A, 1 ph, NEMA 5-15P, 4,435 BTU/h at 14 F evap / 105 F cond | 25.25 x 25.9 x 34 | R-404A | Heated core probe; soft, hard, shock cycles; on-demand or overnight defrost; HACCP via optional USB or Wi-Fi | $9,083.10 (AP3BCF30-1-P) appeared in a search-engine snippet for a dealer page I could not load; treat as unconfirmed | KaTom page blocked |
| American Panel AP5BCF45-2 | 45 lb / 27 lb | 5 pans | 208 V, 7 A, 1 ph, NEMA 6-15P, 6,585 BTU/h | 29.5 x 28.25 x 35.5 | R-404A | Same controller as above | $12,688.00 in the same snippet, unconfirmed | Not confirmed |
| Infrico IBC-ABT51L | 44 lb / 26 lb (149 F start) | 5 pans | 115 V, 15.04 A, NEMA 5-15P | 33 x 35.25 x 39.1 | R-290 | Heated conical probe; 99 programmable cycles | $10,723.73, WebstaurantStore | 1 to 5 business days |
| Infrico IBC-ABT31S | not pulled | 3 pans | 115 V | 28.4 wide | R-290 | as above | $8,237.07, WebstaurantStore | not pulled |
| Alto-Shaam QC3-3 QuickChiller | 36 lb | 3 full-size pans | 115/208-230 V, 16 A, NEMA 5-20P | 27 x 30 x 39 | R-404A | Soft chill, hard chill, freeze, one holding mode; automatic defrost | $11,020.02, WebstaurantStore | 3 to 4 weeks |
| Techfrost JOF23 | 15 lb / 15 lb (freezes to -40 F "in 18 minutes") | 3 quarter sheet pans | 115-120 V, 4 A, NEMA 5-15P | 23.6 x 23.8 x 15.4 | R-404A | 4 cycles; probe not listed | $5,400.00, WebstaurantStore | 6 weeks |
| Traulsen CLBC4-L/R (C Series) | 80 lb in 240 min (135 F to 40 F). Note the 4 h rating | 8 food pans or 4 sheet pans | 115 V, 1 ph, NEMA 5-20P, 1 hp | 54.1 x 35.9 x 32 | R-290 | One waterproof probe; soft and hard chill; automatic electric defrost; no logging listed | $13,679.00 WebstaurantStore; $13,836.14 ckitchen | 3 to 4 weeks |
| Traulsen TBC5-50 (Spec-Line) | 100 lb (160 F to 40 F in 180 min per RestaurantSupply listing) | 10 food pans or 5 sheet pans | 115 V, 13.3 A, 1 ph, NEMA 5-20P, 1 hp | 54 x 34.4 x 33.75 | R-404A | Three probes; on-board printer; USB port; EPICON control | $37,384.88 list at WebstaurantStore and ckitchen; ckitchen "your price" $35,345.70 | 4 to 5 weeks |
| Delfield CV5E | 44 lb / 27 lb | 5 pans | 208-240 V | 33 wide | not stated on page | Capacitive touch control; hot gas defrost with adaptive defrost; 4 chill and 4 freeze cycles | $22,259.00, WebstaurantStore | not pulled |
1b. Reach-in (10 to 15 pans)
| Model | Chill / freeze | Pans | Electrical | W x D x H (in) | Refrigerant | Probe / HACCP | Price seen | Lead time |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Avantco SF-10 | 88 lb / 77 lb (194 F start) | 10 full-size pans | 120 V, 12 to 16 A, NEMA 5-15P, 2 hp | 31 x 29 x 62 | R-290 | Heated core probe; no logging listed | $5,749.00 (Plus $5,499.00), WebstaurantStore | Ships in 1 business day |
| Victory VBCF12-132UL-HC | Rated to 194 F to 37 F in 90 min; lb not on page | 12 sheet or 12 food pans | 208-240 V, 1 ph, 9.0 A, 2 hp, 7,208 BTU/h (113 F / -13 F), NEMA 15-20P | 33.5 x 39.4 x 71.3 | R-290 | Printer standard; HACCP alarms in memory; 99 programs; adjustable fan speed; hard and soft cycles | Not confirmed (dealer pages blocked) | Not confirmed |
| Victory VBCF5-55U-HC | as above | 5 pans | 208-240 V, 6.6 A, 1 hp, 2,985 BTU/h, NEMA 6-15P | 33.5 x 34.7 x 35.4 | R-290 | as above | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Thermo-Kool TK10-2 | 75 lb / 55 lb (165 F, 2 h and 4 h) | 10 full-size 2.5 in pans | 208 V, 15 A, 1 ph, NEMA 6-15P | 32.4 x 35.5 x 43 | R-404A | Food and air probe | $11,849.00 last shown on WebstaurantStore; page now "no longer available" | Made to order |
| Master-Bilt MBCF99/59-8A | 99 lb / 59 lb (194 F start) | 12 GN 1/1 or 8 pans 12 x 20 x 2.5 | 220 V, 3 ph, 12.5 A, 3 hp, 3,136 W refrigeration at -10 F evap / 130 F cond | 31.5 x 33.1 x 74.6 | R-404A | Multi-sensor F.I.C. probe; USB HACCP; 30 logged alarms; variable speed evaporator fans; electric defrost; printer option | Not confirmed new. Used MBCF115/55-14: $14,500 asking, BidOnEquipment, New York | Hardwired |
| Traulsen CLBC7-L/R | 140 lb | not pulled | 208-230 V | not pulled | R-290 (assumed same family, not confirmed) | as CLBC4 | $15,365.00, WebstaurantStore | not pulled |
| Irinox MultiFresh Next S | 55 lb | 5 pans 18 x 13 | 208 V | 31 wide | not pulled | Full Irinox control, USB HACCP | $22,379.00 standard, $23,119.00 eco silent, WebstaurantStore | not pulled |
| Irinox MultiFresh Next SL | 66 lb | 5 sheet pans | 208 V | 34 wide | $26,039.00 / $26,879.00 | |||
| Irinox MultiFresh Next ML | 110 lb | 9 sheet pans | 208 V | 34 wide | $36,329.00 / $38,019.00 | |||
| Techfrost E5 | 44 lb chill / 61 lb freeze | 5 sheet or 10 food pans | 208/230 V, 7 A, hardwire | 32.3 x 31.5 x 36.3 | R-452A | 4 cycles | $11,599.00, WebstaurantStore | 1 to 2 business days |
| Techfrost E10 / E15 | 61 lb / 99 lb | 208-230 V | $24,098.00 / $27,537.00 | |||||
| Delfield CV10E / CV15E | 77/55 lb, 143/110 lb | 208-240 V | $27,015.00 / $39,465.00 | |||||
| Alto-Shaam QC3-20 | 60 lb | 115 V | $20,135.28 |
1c. Roll-in
| Model | Chill / freeze | Electrical | Price seen |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alto-Shaam QC3-100 (1 or 3 ph) | 480 lb | 115/208-230 V | $44,757.24, WebstaurantStore |
| Alto-Shaam QC3-100R (remote condenser) | 480 lb | 115/208-230 V | $42,414.24 |
| American Panel AP20BCF200-3 | 200 lb / 120 lb, self-contained | 208 V 3 ph | Not confirmed (KaTom blocked) |
| American Panel AP20BCF-1T (remote RCU3BCF-A) | 200 lb chill / 120 lb freeze | remote condensing unit | Not confirmed |
| Master-Bilt MBCF220/110-16A | 220 lb / 110 lb | 220 V 3 ph, 17.5 A, 5.5 hp | Not confirmed |
| Irinox MultiFresh Next LL | 154 lb | 208 V | $45,199.00 / $46,219.00 |
Market ranges for context (restaurantequipment.bid buying guide): new undercounter $4,000 to $8,500; new reach-in $9,000 to $25,000+; new roll-in $30,000 to $70,000+. The WebstaurantStore listings above show that the US retail spread is wider than that on both ends: $2,089 for the Avantco SF-3, $37,385 list for a Traulsen TBC5.
Brands asked about that I could not place in the US retail market: Coldline (only Australian dealers surfaced, W5F A$16,559), Friginox (Australian dealer, A$7,590 for MX15-5AEM), Cool Compact, Frost-Tech, Evermed, Nor-Lake, Hoshizaki, Polar, Foster (the DEFRA study below used an old Foster tunnel, but no US retail listing). Turbo Air's "TBC" prefix is a glass froster, not a blast chiller.
Sources for section 1
- Avantco SF-3: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/avantco-sf-3-25-countertop-blast-chiller-freezer-15-lb-9-lb/449SF3.html and spec sheet https://www.webstaurantstore.com/documents/specsheets/avantco_refrigeration_449sf3.pdf
- Avantco SF-5: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/avantco-sf-5-30-countertop-blast-chiller-freezer-31-lb-26-lb/449SF5.html
- Avantco SF-10: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/avantco-sf-10-31-reach-in-blast-chiller-freezer-88-lb-77-lb/449SF10.html and https://www.avantcorefrigeration.com/product/449SF10/
- WebstaurantStore category listing (all Irinox, Delfield, Techfrost, Alto-Shaam, Traulsen CLBC prices): https://www.webstaurantstore.com/13657/commercial-blast-chillers.html
- Atosa EBF-03: https://www.nishienterprise.com/products/atosa-ebf-03-blast-chillerfreezer ; specs via https://atosausa.com/product/ebf-03-blast-chiller-freezer/
- Atosa EBF-05: https://www.ckitchen.com/p/atosa-ebf-05-blast-chiller-freezer.html ; specs via https://atosausa.com/product/ebf-05-blast-chiller-freezer/
- KoolMore: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DMWP6CHN (5 pan), https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DMWPWCYR (3 pan), https://koolmore.com/products/km-cblc-5
- VEVOR: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DMF3ZJJC
- Beverage-Air CF031AG: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/beverage-air-cf031ag-22-counterchill-stainless-steel-countertop-blast-chiller-freezer/185CF031AG.html ; eBay product page https://www.ebay.com/p/14027587147
- Beverage-Air RBS-054-SA-HC: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/beverage-air-rbs-054-sa-hc-33-1-2-countertop-blast-chiller-freezer-208-240v/185RBS54SAHC.html ; lineup https://beverage-air.com/blast-chillers-self-contained/
- Thermo-Kool TK3-1, TK5-1: https://www.thermokool.com/products/chillers-freezers/models/tk3-1 , https://www.thermokool.com/products/chillers-freezers/models/tk5-1 ; TK5-2-C https://www.webstaurantstore.com/thermo-kool-tk5-2-c-5-pan-undercounter-commercial-blast-chiller-75-lb/818TK52C.html ; TK10-2 https://www.webstaurantstore.com/thermo-kool-tk10-2-10-pan-reach-in-commercial-blast-chiller-75-lb/818TK102.html ; KaTom TK3-1 https://www.katom.com/391-TK31.html (blocked, snippet says "contact factory for price")
- American Panel brochure (spec table p. 6, features p. 13-16): http://www.americanpanel.com/materials/Sales/hurrichill_brochure.pdf ; KaTom AP3BCF30-1-P https://www.katom.com/250-AP3BCF301.html (blocked)
- Infrico: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/infrico-ibc-abt51l-33-countertop-blast-chiller-freezer-115v/18CBCABT51L.html
- Alto-Shaam QC3-3: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/alto-shaam-qc3-3-27-quickchiller-reach-in-commercial-countertop-blast-chiller-36-lb/131QC33A.html
- Techfrost JOF23: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/techfrost-jof23-24-blast-chiller-freezer-15-lb-115-120v/774JOF23.html ; E5 https://www.webstaurantstore.com/techfrost-e5-33-blast-chiller-freezer-44-lb-208-230v/774E5.html
- Traulsen CLBC4-L: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/traulsen-clbc4-l-c-series-54-1-8-left-hinged-undercounter-blast-chiller-80-lb-115v/882CBC4L.html ; ckitchen https://www.ckitchen.com/p/traulsen-tbc5-50-spec-line-undercounter-blast-chil.html (shows CLBC4 and TBC5 prices and finance figures)
- Traulsen TBC5-50: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/traulsen-tbc5-50-spec-line-undercounter-5-pan-blast-chiller-right-hinged-door-with-6-casters/882TBC550.html ; product family https://www.traulsen.com/products/blast-chillers/blast-chiller
- Delfield CV5E: https://www.delfield.com/product/cv5e-blast-chiller-shock-freezers/ ; prices https://www.webstaurantstore.com/13657/commercial-blast-chillers.html?vendor=Delfield
- Victory VBCF: https://victoryrefrigeration.com/VBCF12-132UL-HC-Self-Contained-Blast-Chiller-Shock-Reach-In-Freezer ; manual with electrical table https://www.mmequip.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/809-206A_MANUAL_INSTALLATION_AND_OPERATION_VICTORY_VBCF.pdf
- Master-Bilt MBCF spec sheet: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/documents/specsheets/master-chill-reach-in-blast-chillers-freezers-spec-sheet.pdf
- Irinox: https://www.webstaurantstore.com/13657/commercial-blast-chillers.html?vendor=Irinox
- Price-range guide: https://restaurantequipment.bid/commercial-blast-chillers-restaurants/
- Coldline (AU only): https://flexikitch.com.au/collections/blast-chillers-freezers-refrigeration ; Friginox (AU): https://eattucker.com/all-products/blast-chiller-freezer/friginox-mx15-5aem-reach-in-blast-chiller-freezer-4-tray-7-590/
2. Detail on the units a commissary would shortlist
Five units stand out for a small commissary on 115 V service. The Avantco SF-5 and SF-10 are the cheapest branded units with a heated probe and R-290, ship next day, and carry a 1 year warranty. The Atosa EBF-05 is 55 lb per cycle on a 12 A, 115 V plug with a 3 year parts and labor, 5 year compressor warranty (ckitchen). The Infrico IBC-ABT51L is a European-built 115 V unit at $10,724 with 99 programmable cycles. The Traulsen CLBC4 is the first Traulsen on 115 V and R-290, but its 80 lb rating is a 4 hour number from 135 F, so it is not a 90 minute machine; it is closer to a big cook-chill cabinet.
Two things to check on any of the Chinese-built units (Avantco, Atosa, KoolMore, VEVOR, Infrico is Spanish): none of the product pages list HACCP data export, and only Avantco and Infrico mention the heated probe. Avantco's warranty is 1 year. Traulsen TBC carries 6 year parts and labor and 7 year compressor per ckitchen; Master-Bilt is 1 year plus 4 more on the compressor part only.
3. Used and refurbished market
Observed listings (all 2026-08-30): - eBay product page for Traulsen RBC50 family: Traulsen TBC5 undercounter $4,499.99; RBC50-ZWM12 115 V $3,499.99; RBC200 with 4 hp remote condenser $10,000.00. https://www.ebay.com/p/1938694989 - eBay product page for Beverage-Air CF031AG: $1,899.00, $3,000.00, $3,099.00; Beverage-Air BACF10-0DX5 freestanding $4,400.00. https://www.ebay.com/p/14027587147 - eBay new import "10 Tray Commercial Blast Chiller" $5,150.00. https://ebay.com/itm/155408839475 (from search snippet; item page blocked) - used.forsale aggregator of eBay: CF031AG $2,899; unbranded blast chiller freezer $2,000; new 15 tray $2,800; 5 tray $3,540 to $3,799. https://www.used.forsale/blast-chiller - MS Restaurant & Equipment Sales, Traulsen RBC50-ZWM12 "tested works": $5,999.00, sold out. https://www.msrestaurantequipmentsales.com/products/traulsen-rbc50-zwm12-50lb-capacity-undercounter-blast-chiller-tested-works - BidOnEquipment, Master-Bilt MBCF115/55-14 reach-in, 14 pans, 220 V 3 ph, 13.3 A, 2.5 hp, manual defrost, New York: $14,500 asking, condition used. https://www.bid-on-equipment.com/freezers-and-coolers/batch-freezers-and-coolers/freezing-and-cooling-boxes/135196~mb-master-bilt-blast-chiller-freezer.htm - Machinio (search snippet only; page blocked): used Irinox from $2,950 (Dallas) and $8,250 (Phoenix). https://www.machinio.com/cat/blast-chillers - Rasmus Auctions (DC, Lorton VA, Baltimore) list Beverage-Air blast chiller freezers in restaurant liquidation sales, but the catalog pages I could load do not show hammer prices. https://rasmus.com/auctions/tO8hn3WDjlccFqUP1Kxh/a/Late-Model-Top-Of-The-Line-Restaurant-Equipment-Auction--Lorton-VA - Kansas City auctions: equip-bid.com runs recurring restaurant equipment sales; the archive page I loaded (auction 3070, bakery liquidation, closed 2017) had no blast chiller in the first 50 lots. https://www.equip-bid.com/auction/3070
Typical used prices from the restaurantequipment.bid guide: undercounter $1,500 to $4,000; reach-in $3,000 to $9,500; roll-in $8,000 to $22,000. The eBay listings above sit inside those ranges: a 5 pan Traulsen or Beverage-Air undercounter runs $1,900 to $4,500 on eBay, $6,000 from a dealer who has tested it.
Risks: - Refrigerant. Every used US unit older than about 2024 is R-404A (GWP 3,922). EPA's Technology Transitions rule bars manufacture and import of new "retail food refrigeration stand-alone units" above 150 GWP from January 1, 2025, which is why the current Avantco, Traulsen CLBC, Beverage-Air RBS, Victory VBCF and Infrico lines are all R-290. The rule "does not restrict the continued use of any existing products," and components for servicing legacy systems may still be made and imported, but must be labeled for servicing only. So a used R-404A unit is legal to run and repair; the cost is the refrigerant itself, which is under the AIM Act production phasedown (to 15% of baseline by 2036). Sources: https://www.epa.gov/system/files/documents/2026-05/technology-transitions-final-rule-fact-sheet-updated-may-2026.pdf ; https://www.epa.gov/hfcs/technology-transitions-hfc-restrictions-sector ; https://www.epa.gov/climate-hfcs-reduction/hfc-allowances - Compressor age and hours. Blast chillers run the compressor at full load for the whole cycle. Traulsen's own used units on eBay at $3,500 have no warranty; new Traulsen TBC has 7 years on the compressor. - Probes and controllers. Victory's warranty excludes "blast chiller/freeze probes" as wear parts; a replacement heated probe is a dealer part. Thermo-Kool's troubleshooting section is written for "a licensed and certified technician" with the top cover off and a volt meter on L1/L2. - Discontinued models. Beverage-Air CF031AG, Thermo-Kool TK5-1, TK5-2-C and TK10-2 have all been pulled from WebstaurantStore. Parts remain, but not from the retailer. - Hardwired 3 phase. Master-Bilt MBCF and the larger American Panel units are 208 to 220 V, 3 phase, hardwired. A commissary on single phase cannot use them without a converter.
4. Leasing and financing
- Crestmont Capital's guide gives "$20 to $30 per $1,000 of equipment value" per month on a 48 to 60 month lease, no down payment on most, 1 to 2 advance payments at signing, 600+ personal credit for approval, better rates at 680+, $1 buyout or FMV structures. For a $7,000 unit that is $140 to $210 per month. https://www.crestmontcapital.com/blog/commercial-kitchen-equipment-leasing-a-smart-financing-strategy-for-foodservice-businesses
- ckitchen's finance figures on live product pages: Traulsen CLBC4 at $13,836.14 "finance for $297.34/mo" (2.15% of price per month); TBC5-50 at $37,384.88 for $759.58/mo (2.03%). Term not stated on the page; ckitchen says 12 to 60 months. Scaling that ratio to $7,000 gives about $140 to $150 per month. https://www.ckitchen.com/resources/kitchen-equipment-lease.html
- Clicklease (used by Standard Restaurant Supply, Falcon Restaurant Supply): lease-to-own, 12 to 60 months, approvals up to $25,000, all credit scores, no early payoff penalty; rates not published. https://www.clicklease.com/industries/restaurant-food-service
- The Restaurant Warehouse: 12 to 60 months, 100% financing, minimum 550 FICO with specialized lenders, $1 buyout leases, promotional "$99 per month for the first six months." Their own blog puts startup lease rates at 12 to 20% with 20 to 30% down for new businesses. https://therestaurantwarehouse.com/pages/restaurant-equipment-financing
- KWIPPED is a quote marketplace only; it lists 12 to 72 month equipment loans but no rates. https://www.kwipped.com/rentals/restaurant/commercial-blast-chillers/1236
Amortized payments I computed for reference (principal, APR, 36 mo / 60 mo): - $6,000: 12% $199 / $133; 18% $217 / $152; 25% $239 / $176 - $7,000: 12% $233 / $156; 18% $253 / $178; 25% $278 / $205 - $8,000: 12% $266 / $178; 18% $289 / $203; 25% $318 / $235
Total paid on $7,000 over 36 months: $8,370 at 12%, $9,110 at 18%, $10,019 at 25%. Section 179 expensing applies to purchased or $1-buyout-leased equipment; I have not checked the 2026 limit.
5. Ongoing costs
Power. Nameplate draw and what a full cycle costs at $0.25/kWh (Con Edison commercial rates are around that; not verified for this account):
| Unit | Nameplate | 90 min blast at nameplate | 4 h freeze at nameplate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atosa EBF-03 | 623 W | 0.93 kWh, $0.23 | 2.5 kWh, $0.62 |
| Atosa EBF-05 | 1,163 W | 1.74 kWh, $0.44 | 4.7 kWh, $1.16 |
| Avantco SF-3 (120 V x 8.5 A) | 1,020 W | 1.5 kWh, $0.38 | 4.1 kWh, $1.02 |
| Avantco SF-10 (120 V x 16 A) | 1,920 W | 2.9 kWh, $0.72 | 7.7 kWh, $1.92 |
| Traulsen TBC5 (115 V x 13.3 A) | 1,530 W | 2.3 kWh, $0.57 | 6.1 kWh, $1.53 |
| Infrico ABT51L (115 V x 15.04 A) | 1,730 W | 2.6 kWh, $0.65 | 6.9 kWh, $1.73 |
| Beverage-Air RBS-054 (230 V x 6.6 A) | 1,518 W | 2.3 kWh, $0.57 | 6.1 kWh, $1.52 |
| Victory VBCF12 (230 V x 9.0 A) | 2,070 W | 3.1 kWh, $0.78 | 8.3 kWh, $2.07 |
Nameplate is an upper bound; the compressor runs near full load through a blast cycle, so real draw is probably 70 to 100% of this. The only measured field data I found is a DEFRA/FRPERC case study of an industrial pie-filling tunnel chiller: 173 kWh per tonne of product on average, 143 kWh/tonne on the busiest day, energy coefficient 0.44 (poor; the report cites up to 1.5 for good forced-air coolers), with a base load of 5.6 kW when empty. Scaled to a 20 kg commissary batch that is about 3.5 kWh, which lines up with the nameplate table. https://www.grimsby.ac.uk/documents/defra/manf-piefillingcasestudy.pdf
Defrost. Thermo-Kool: automatic defrost after 6 hours accumulated run (default), 40 minute cycle, compressor off and evaporator fan on, door open recommended. American Panel: on-demand or overnight automatic. Traulsen CLBC: automatic electric. Delfield CV5E: hot gas with adaptive control. Beverage-Air RBS-054: timed manual. Beverage-Air CF031AG: manual. A defrost between back-to-back cycles costs 15 to 40 minutes of downtime on the manual units. Sources: Thermo-Kool manual https://www.webstaurantstore.com/documents/pdf/thermokoolblastchiller_manual.pdf ; American Panel brochure; Delfield and Beverage-Air pages above.
Maintenance intervals. Victory's manual: daily interior and exterior cleaning, condenser cleaned "at regular intervals" by a technician (failure to clean voids the warranty), drain kept clear, gaskets checked. Parts Town's guide lists coil cleaning, drain lines, gaskets, hinges, fan blades, thermometer calibration and fan motors as the planned-maintenance checklist. Probes are wear parts (Victory warranty exclusion). Sources: Victory manual PDF above; https://www.partstown.com/cm/resource-center/guides/gd3/how-does-a-blast-chiller-work-why-is-planned-maintenance-crucial
Service contracts. ServiceTitan's commercial refrigeration guide: preventive maintenance only, $150 to $500 per unit per year; all-inclusive parts and labor, $1,500 to $5,000 per unit per year; blast chillers and walk-ins cost more than reach-ins. https://www.servicetitan.com/blog/commercial-refrigeration-maintenance-contracts
Warranties observed: Avantco 1 year; Atosa 3 year parts and labor, 5 year compressor (ckitchen, extended to 5/5 for $413); Traulsen TBC 6 year parts and labor, 7 year compressor (ckitchen); Master-Bilt 1 year plus 4 year compressor part; Beverage-Air extended protection from $159.33 (WebstaurantStore).
6. What a blast chiller does that a freezer with a fan does not
Air temperature and staged cycles. The controller drives air temperature well below the product target and then backs off so the surface does not freeze. Everlasting's published cycle: hard chill runs air at -20 C until core reaches +15 C, then -2 C until core reaches +3 C; soft chill never lets air below -2 C; hard freeze runs air to -40 C to a -18 C core. Irinox EasyFresh manual defaults: soft chill air -1 C, hard chill phase 1 air -20 C then -1 C, end core +3 C, preservation air +2 C. Thermo-Kool defaults (F): soft chill air 28 to 35 F, target food 40 F, then hold at 35 to 42 F; shock freeze ends at 0 F food with air near -25 F on the display. Master-Bilt pre-sets cell temperature at +32, +23 or -13 F for chilling and -13 F for freezing. A household freezer holds one temperature (about -20 C in the Tech Ingredients video) and has no way to stage this. Sources: https://www.everlasting.it/eng/products/blast-chillers/approfondimenti ; Irinox manual https://caterlink-web.s3.ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com/public/partdocs/Irinox-EasyFresh-Blast-Chiller-User-Manual.pdf ; Thermo-Kool manual; Master-Bilt spec sheet.
Evaporator and compressor sizing. Published refrigeration capacities: Thermo-Kool TK3-1 4,000 BTU/h (1.17 kW) for 29 lb; TK5-1 6,900 BTU/h (2.0 kW) for 44 lb; American Panel AP3BCF30-1 4,435 BTU/h for 30 lb, AP5BCF45-2 6,585 for 45 lb, AP7BCF70-2 13,000 for 70 lb; Cres Cor CCBC-4-35 3,706 BTU/h, 3/4 hp for 35 lb; CCBC-12-75 7,188 BTU/h, 1.5 hp for 75 lb; Master-Bilt MBCF99 3,136 W (10,700 BTU/h), 3 hp for 99 lb; Victory VBCF5 2,985 BTU/h at 113 F ambient / -13 F evap, VBCF12 7,208; Beverage-Air CF031AG 1,571 BTU/h for 17.6 lb. That works out to roughly 90 to 150 BTU/h per lb of 90 minute capacity, or 60 to 100 W of cooling per kg. The residential freezer in the Tech Ingredients video draws 90 W at the wall and runs at 50% duty, so it has about 45 W of spare cooling; by blast chiller sizing rules that is good for well under 1 kg per 90 minutes. That is exactly why the video leans on 20 to 50 kg of frozen food (or the eutectic bottles) as a heat sink. The fan moves heat into the thermal mass fast; it does not add any refrigeration capacity. Sources: Thermo-Kool model pages; American Panel brochure p. 6; Cres Cor manual https://www.partstown.com/modelManual/CRE-CCBC435_spm.pdf ; Master-Bilt spec sheet; Victory manual.
Air velocity at the product. No US manufacturer publishes a m/s figure on its spec sheet. What is published: Cres Cor "large surface area evaporator and high velocity fan"; Master-Bilt "variable speed drives on evaporator fans" and "ventilation not directly on foods"; American Panel "three way indirect air flow system" to keep dehydration to a minimum; Irinox "5 different fan speeds"; Victory "adjustable evaporator fan speed." The one measured number I found is the DEFRA/FRPERC study of an industrial Foster blast chiller: evaporator coil face velocity 2.1 m/s (air-on), condenser 3.4 m/s. Velocity at the tray surface would be lower than coil face velocity. The point of the indirect designs is that the makers deliberately do not blast the product directly, because surface freezing and dehydration cost more than the faster heat transfer gains. The Tech Ingredients fan blows straight through the pot; that is fine for a covered stock, less so for open trays of rice or braise.
Probe-controlled end of cycle. Every unit above ends the cycle on core temperature, not time: 37 to 40 F for chill, 0 F for freeze. Thermo-Kool's automatic modes will not run without the food probe plugged in. Traulsen TBC has three probes for mixed batches; Master-Bilt's F.I.C. probe reads core, under-surface and surface at once. Heated probe tips (Avantco, Infrico, Beverage-Air, American Panel) let you pull the probe out of frozen product.
Automatic switch to hold. At the end of the cycle the cabinet becomes a refrigerator or freezer: Thermo-Kool holds air at 35 to 42 F, Everlasting at +2 C or -20 C, Cres Cor "reverts to a 38 F storage refrigerator," Beverage-Air RBS calls it conservation mode. Product can sit overnight. A freezer retrofit either freezes everything or you have to come back and move it.
Defrost between cycles. Covered in section 5. The evaporator in a blast chiller ices heavily because it sees hot, wet product; the controller schedules defrost around the cycles. The residential freezer's own defrost (280 W, every 6 to 18 hours in the video) will fire whenever it wants, including mid-batch.
HACCP record. Printer standard on Victory and Traulsen TBC; USB export on Master-Bilt, Beverage-Air RBS, American Panel (Wi-Fi optional); RS-232 on Thermo-Kool. None of the sub-$6,000 units list any export. For a commissary that already passes inspection without a blast chiller this matters less, but it is the feature that turns a cooling log from a clipboard into a file.
Construction. 2.95 in foamed walls (Master-Bilt), rounded coved interiors, hinged evaporator covers, drains, door frame heaters, condensation evaporators, and duty-rated door hinges. The freezer retrofit inherits whatever the freezer has.
7. Comparison: retrofit vs used vs new
| DIY retrofit (fan + PSU, optional eutectic bottles) | Used blast chiller | New undercounter, 3 to 5 pan | New reach-in, 10 to 15 pan | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capex | About $50 to $100 for fan (B0DHKQS3DC) and PSU (B09YSJQWRG) per the video; eutectic bottles are under $2 each in ammonium chloride, carbon fiber, xanthan and bentonite; reuses the freezer you own | $1,500 to $4,500 for a 3 to 5 pan Traulsen or Beverage-Air on eBay; $6,000 dealer-tested; $3,000 to $9,500 for a reach-in; $14,500 asking for a 14 pan Master-Bilt in NY | $2,089 (Avantco SF-3) to $3,789 (SF-5) to $5,188 to $5,707 (Atosa EBF-05); $8,237 to $11,020 for Infrico, Techfrost, Alto-Shaam; $13,679 Traulsen CLBC4; $17,810 Beverage-Air RBS-054; $22,259 Delfield CV5E | $5,749 Avantco SF-10; $11,849 Thermo-Kool TK10-2 (last seen); $15,365 Traulsen CLBC7; $24,098 Techfrost E10; $27,015 Delfield CV10E; $36,329 Irinox ML |
| Capacity | Video: 800 mL water in a 1 kg pot, 50 C to 0 C in 60 min (vs 120 min without fan), frozen solid in 165 min (vs 420). Bounded by the freezer's ~45 W spare cooling and the frozen mass; each batch warms the freezer 5 to 6 C. Roughly 1 to 3 kg per session before the load starts to thaw, more with eutectic bottles | 30 to 50 lb per 90 min for a 5 pan unit; 75 to 100 lb for a reach-in, if the compressor still makes rated capacity | 15 lb (SF-3), 22 lb (EBF-03), 31 lb (SF-5), 44 to 55 lb (Infrico, EBF-05, RBS-054, Thermo-Kool TK5, American Panel AP5) per 90 min | 75 to 110 lb per 90 min (SF-10 88 lb, TK10-2 75 lb, Master-Bilt 99 lb, Irinox ML 110 lb); 140 lb Traulsen CLBC7 |
| Electrical | Existing freezer outlet plus a 12 V supply | Mostly 115 V 5-15P or 5-20P for undercounter; 208 V or 3 phase for reach-in | 115/120 V, 5-15P or 5-20P, 6.5 to 16 A for Avantco, Atosa, Infrico, Thermo-Kool, American Panel AP3, Traulsen CLBC4; 208/240 V 6-15P for Beverage-Air RBS, Delfield, Techfrost | 120 V 5-15P for Avantco SF-10 only; 208 V 1 ph (Thermo-Kool, Victory, Irinox, Traulsen CLBC7) or 220 V 3 ph (Master-Bilt) for the rest |
| Lead time | Same day | Days to weeks, plus freight | 1 business day (Avantco, Infrico, Techfrost E5) to 3 to 6 weeks (Traulsen, Beverage-Air, Alto-Shaam, Techfrost JOF) | 1 business day (Avantco) to 4 to 5 weeks |
| What you give up | No probe-controlled end of cycle, no hold mode, no staged air temperature, no HACCP record, no defrost scheduling, and the fan's 30 to 60 W of heat goes into the freezer. Freezer warms with every batch, and food already in it rides the temperature swings. Does nothing for a chest freezer's lack of a dedicated evaporator fan. Compressor duty cycle goes up, which cuts against the "reduce stress on the freezer" goal | No warranty, R-404A, unknown compressor hours, probes and controllers as dealer parts, discontinued models. You still get real refrigeration capacity and probe control | 1 year warranty and no HACCP export on the cheap units; 3 to 6 week waits and $10,000 to $22,000 for the branded units with USB or printer. Floor space and a dedicated circuit | Cost, 208 V or 3 phase service, floor space, and a service contract at $150 to $500 per year for PM or $1,500 to $5,000 all-in |
| Fits the stated goal ("cool faster, stress the freezer less") | Cools faster, yes. Stresses the freezer more, not less: the freezer's compressor now does the blast chiller's job, and the eutectic bottles only shift when it does that work to overnight | Takes the cooling load off the storage freezer entirely | Same, on a 115 V plug, and the Avantco SF-5 or Atosa EBF-05 is in the same money as a good used unit | Same, at commissary scale |
The honest read: the retrofit is a $50 way to halve cool-down time on a few kilos a day, and the eutectic bottles are a clever way to add thermal buffer without giving up shelf space. It does not reduce load on the freezer; it moves load from the food to the freezer compressor. If the goal is to cut stress on the storage freezers, the cheapest thing that actually does that is a $3,789 Avantco SF-5 or a $5,188 Atosa EBF-05 on its own 115 V circuit, with the freezers left to hold. A used 5 pan Traulsen at $3,500 to $4,500 gets a bigger compressor and printer for the same money, at the cost of R-404A and no warranty.
Appendix: transcript facts used
From the fan video transcript (transcript2.txt): typical commercial unit "between about $5 and $8,000"; residential freezer compressor 75 to 94 W, 50% duty cycle, about 45 W of spare cooling; freezer defrost about 280 W for a few minutes every 6 to 18 hours; fan at 8 to 9 V gives about 80% of maximum airflow at less than half the power; 800 mL water in a 1 kg pot from 50 C to 0 C in 120 min without fan, 60 min with; freezing plateau 300 min vs 100 min; freezer runs -20 to -25 C and warms 5 to 6 C per batch; relies on 20 to 50 kg of frozen food as heat sink.
From the eutectic video transcript (transcript.txt): commercial units "start at a couple thousand and rapidly go up," some "have three-phase motors"; ammonium chloride eutectic freezes at -15.4 C; the eutectic bottle held its plateau about 5 hours in room air versus water and gel packs at 0 C; the point is to stop each batch from warming the rest of the freezer's contents.